Asheville Citizen Times 5K Recap

September 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

On 9/18 I ran the ACT 5K.  This was my first 5K in over a year and it felt great to get back into it.  I am pleased to say that I met my goals.

1.  No walking. (check)

2.  Complete the race in under 30 min. (29:26, check)

I am most excited about not having to walk.  The course was very hilly, and I hate hills — I need to learn to love hills. (Living in WNC it is impossible to have a race with out hills since it’s nothing but mountains). I was afraid that I would have to walk a bit to catch my breath after topping the hills, especially the huge one at the end.  However, I did not let my mind get the best of me! 

There was also a half marathon.  Those of us who ran the 5K stayed to cheer on our crazy friends who were running the half.  It was so exciting to see everyone finish.  What a great accomplishment!  They made it look so effortless.  Who knows, maybe next year I’ll join them in the half.

post race photo with the gang (I'm in the pink hat)

 

Do you like/love running hills?  If so, any advice on how to make yourself like them?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Asheville Citizen Times 5K Recap at .

meta

