Quick and Easy Snack: Spicy Baked Chickpeas

October 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

The other day I had my TV tuned to Food Network while working on some chores.  I was “watching” 5 Ingredient Fix and the segment on Spicy Baked Chickpeas caught my eye.  I am always on the look-out for quick and easy snack ideas that are healthy.  I decided to try them out since I already had the necessary ingredients on hand.

Spicy Baked Chickpeas via Food Network

* 2 15 oz cans of chickpeas

* 2 Tbsp olive oil

* 1 tsp paprika

* 1 tsp cumin

* pinch cayenne pepper

* kosher salt (to taste)

Preheat oven to 400.  Rinse, drain, and dry the chickpeas.  In a large bowl, combine the olive oil, paprika, cumin, cayenne pepper, and salt.  Add chickpeas, and thoroughly coat in spice mixture.  Place chickpeas in a single layer on a parchment covered baking sheet.  Bake for approximately 25 – 30 min, giving the baking sheet a good shake to toss the chickpeas halfway through cooking.  Let cool, and then try not to eat them all in one sitting.

I baked mine for about 25 minutes.  They were crisp on the outside and still slightly soft on the inside.  They are perfect on their own, but I can’t wait to add them to a salad.  I think these are going to become a snacking staple.  I feel much better eating these by the handful than potato chips.

Try ‘em, and let me know what you think.

What are your favorite quick and easy snacks?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quick and Easy Snack: Spicy Baked Chickpeas at .

meta

